In 2008, the Marvel Cinematic Universe kicked off with the release of “Iron Man” and since then the MCU has continued to grow, with new movies, shorts and series being released.

Due to the number of films and series released, it can be difficult to know exactly how to watch them.

There are two ways you can watch the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Release Order or Timeline Order.

  • Release Order – This is the order in which the films, shorts and series were released, either in cinemas or on Disney+. Marvel Studios has been releasing films in “Phases”, which generally revolve around building up to a major film like “Avengers”.
  • Timeline Order – This is the order in which the events took place.

It’s important to note that there are some missing movies from this timeline order, because Universal has the distribution rights to “The Incredible Hulk” and Sony has the distribution rights to the “Spider-Man” home trilogy. This is why they aren’t available on Disney+.


Marvel Cinematic Universe In Release Order On Disney+

Phase One

  1. Iron Man
  2. Iron Man 2
  3. Thor
  4. The Consultant
  5. Captain America: The First Avenger
  6. A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To Thor’s Hammer
  7. Avengers
  8. Item 47

Phase Two

  1. Iron Man 3
  2. Agent Carter
  3. Thor: The Dark World
  4. All Hail The King
  5. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  6. Guardians Of The Galaxy
  7. Avengers: Age Of Ultron
  8. Ant-Man

Phase Three

  1. Captain America: Civil War
  2. Team Thor: Part 1
  3. Doctor Strange
  4. Team Thor: Part 2
  5. Guardians Of The Galaxy: Vol 2
  6. Thor: Ragnarok
  7. Team Darryl
  8. Black Panther
  9. Avengers: Infinity War
  10. Ant-Man And The Wasp
  11. Captain Marvel
  12. Avengers: Endgame

Phase Four

  1. WandaVision
  2. The Falcon And The Winter Soldier
  3. Loki
  4. Black Widow
  5. What If..?
  6. Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings
  7. Eternals
  8. Hawkeye
  9. Moon Knight

Marvel Cinematic Universe In Timeline Order On Disney+

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger
  2. Agent Carter
  3. Captain Marvel
  4. Iron Man
  5. Iron Man 2
  6. A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To Thor’s Hammer
  7. Thor
  8. The Consultant
  9. The Avengers
  10. Item 47
  11. Thor: The Dark World
  12. Iron Man 3
  13. All Hail The King
  14. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  15. Guardians Of The Galaxy
  16. Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 2
  17. Avengers: Age of Ultron
  18. Ant-Man
  19. Captain America: Civil War
  20. Black Widow
  21. Black Panther
  22. Doctor Strange
  23. Thor: Ragnarok
  24. Ant-Man and The Wasp
  25. Avengers: Infinity War
  26. Avengers: Endgame
  27. Loki
  28. What If…?
  29. WandaVision
  30. The Falcon And The Winter Soldier
  31. Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings
  32. Eternals
  33. Hawkeye
  34. Moon Knight

The Defenders Saga

There is also the “Defenders” Saga, which originally was released on Netflix, before being moved onto Disney+ in early 2022.  “The Defenders” take place in New York after the events of “The Avengers” and before the events of the “Hawkeye” Disney+ series.  However, these series aren’t considered part of the MCU.

The watching order for “The Defenders” is:

  1. Daredevil – season 1
  2. Jessica Jones – season 1
  3. Daredevil – season 2
  4. Luke Cage – season 1
  5. Iron Fist- season 1
  6. The Defenders
  7. The Punisher – season 1
  8. Jessica Jones  – season 2
  9. Luke Cage  – season 2
  10. Iron Fist – season 2
  11. Daredevil  – season 3
  12. The Punisher – season 2
  13. Jessica Jones  – season 3

As Marvel Studios continue to release new films and series, this list will continue to evolve.

For the latest Disney+ news, follow us on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram.

Roger Palmer

Roger has been a Disney fan since he was a kid and this interest has grown over the years. He has visited Disney Parks around the globe and has a vast collection of Disney movies and collectibles. He is the owner of What's On Disney Plus & DisKingdom. Email: Twitter: Facebook:

Related Article

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *