To tie in with the release of the first two episodes of the fifth season of FX’s “Fargo”, Sony Masterworks has released the soundtrack to the show on digital platforms, including Amazon, Spotify, Apple and YouTube.

The latest installment of Fargo is set in Minnesota and North Dakota, 2019.  After an unexpected series of events lands “Dorothy ‘Dot’ Lyon” (Juno Temple) in hot water with the authorities, this seemingly typical Midwestern housewife is suddenly plunged back into a life she thought she had left behind.  

North Dakota Sheriff “Roy Tillman” (Jon Hamm) has been searching for Dot for a long time.  A rancher, preacher and a constitutional lawman, Roy believes that he is the law and therefore is above the law.  At his side is his loyal but feckless son, “Gator” (Joe Keery), who is desperate to prove himself to his larger-than-life father. Too bad he’s hopeless.  So, when it comes to hunting Dot, Roy enlists “Ole Munch” (Sam Spruell), a shadowy drifter of mysterious origin. 

With her deepest secrets beginning to unravel, Dot attempts to shield her family from her past, but her doting, well-meaning husband “Wayne” (David Rysdahl) keeps running to his mother, “Lorraine Lyon” (Jennifer Jason Leigh), for help.  CEO of the largest Debt Collection Agency in the country, the “Queen of Debt” is unimpressed with her son’s choice in a wife and spares no opportunity to voice her disapproval.  However, when Dot’s unusual behavior catches the attention of Minnesota Police Deputy “Indira Olmstead” (Richa Moorjani) and North Dakota Deputy “Witt Farr” (Lamorne Morris), Lorraine appoints her in-house counsel and primary advisor, “Danish Graves” (Dave Foley) to aid her daughter-in-law.  Afterall, family is family.  But Dot has an uncanny knack for survival.  And with her back to the wall, she’s about to show why one should never provoke a mother Lyon.

The album features original music composed by Jeff Russo, who has previously worked on “Star Trek: Discovery”, “Star Trek: Picard”, and the Marvel FX series “Legion”.

Here’s the tracklist for the album:

1. Who Is Dot (6:16)
2. The Rancher (5:39)
3. Run (5:13)
4. Lorraine (4:53)
5. Horror (4:05)
6. Munch (4:24)
7. S5 Murder Theme (7:26)
8. Dot Part Deux (3:24)
9. Dot (Moving) (3:42)
10. Linda (5:41)
11. Slow Tension (4:36)
12. Fargo Season 5 Main Theme (2:27)
13. Fargo Season 5 Main Theme (Harp) (2:39)
14. Fargo Season 5 Main Theme (Secret Suite) (8:05)
15. Timpani Suite (2:54)
16. Simple Gifts (2:53)
17. Toxic (feat. Lisa Hannigan) (4:42)
18. Kidnap (3:42)
19. Ranchers Open (1:25)
20. Fargo Metal (0:44)
21. Drums and Tennis (1:59)
22. Strip Club (1:53)

The first two episodes of “Fargo” are going to be released on the FX channel later today and will be available to stream on Hulu on Wednesday 22nd November 2023.  The previous four seasons of “Fargo” are also available to stream on Hulu now.

Are you looking forward to the return of “Fargo”?  Let us know on social media!

For the latest Disney+ news, follow us on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram.

Roger Palmer

Roger has been a Disney fan since he was a kid and this interest has grown over the years. He has visited Disney Parks around the globe and has a vast collection of Disney movies and collectibles. He is the owner of What's On Disney Plus & DisKingdom. Email: Twitter: Facebook:

Related Article