With the release of the brand new Marvel Studios animated series “What If?”, Disney+ has updated its official Marvel Cinematic Universe timeline order to include the new show.

The new animated series takes place in between “Loki” and “WandaVision”, which makes sense following the events of “Loki”, where we learn about the existence of the multiverse.

“What If?” is a little trickier to fit within the timeline, since the series does take place at different times throughout the MCU, but it only makes sense once you’ve got an understanding of how timelines work.

So if you’re looking to watch the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe in timeline order, here’s what order you need to watch them in:

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger
  2. Captain Marvel
  3. Iron Man
  4. Iron Man 2
  5. Thor
  6. The Avengers
  7. Thor: The Dark World
  8. Iron Man 3
  9. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  10. Guardians of the Galaxy
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  12. Avengers: Age of Ultron
  13. Ant-Man
  14. Captain America: Civil War
  15. Black Widow
  16. Black Panther
  17. Doctor Strange
  18. Thor: Ragnarok
  19. Ant-Man and the Wasp
  20. Avengers: Infinity War
  21. Avengers: Endgame
  22. Loki
  23. What If…?
  24. WandaVision
  25. The Falcon and the Winter Soldier

It’s important to note that this list isn’t complete due to “The Incredible Hulk” and all three of the Tom Holland “Spider-Man” films not being available on Disney+.

Roger Palmer

Roger has been a Disney fan since he was a kid and this interest has grown over the years. He has visited Disney Parks around the globe and has a vast collection of Disney movies and collectibles. He is the owner of What's On Disney Plus & DisKingdom. Email: Roger@WhatsOnDisneyPlus.com Twitter: Twitter.com/RogPalmerUK Facebook: Facebook.com/rogpalmeruk

Related Article

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  1. Paul August 12, 2021

    Interesting that Thor the Dark World comes before Iron Man 3 as IM3 picks up directly after the Avengers. And so glad to get timeline order for the TV shows too, been wondering what order t watch them in.