The 19th Annual Visual Effects Society (VES) Awards took place this week and Disney picked up a number of awards for many of its projects including 5 wins for Pixar’s “Soul” and 3 wins for the Disney+ Original series “Star Wars: The Mandalorian”.  With “The One And Only Ivan” and “Mulan” also picking up an award.

The 19th Annual VES Awards, the prestigious yearly celebration that recognizes outstanding visual effects artistry and innovation in film, animation, television, commercials and video games and the VFX supervisors, VFX producers and hands-on artists who bring this work to life.

Soul won the following awards:

  • Outstanding Visual Effects in an Animated Feature
  • Outstanding Animated Character in an Animated Feature
  • Outstanding Effects Simulations in an Animated Feature
  • Outstanding Created Environment in an Animated Feature
  • Outstanding Virtual Cinematography in a CG Project

The Mandalorian won the following awards:

  • Outstanding Created Environment in an Episode, Commercial, or Real-Time Project
  • Outstanding Animated Character in an Episode or Real-Time Project
  • Outstanding Visual Effects in a Photoreal Episode

“The One And Only Ivan” won the award for:

  • Outstanding Animated Character in a Photoreal Feature

Mulan won the award for:

  • Outstanding Created Environment in a Photoreal Feature

Comedian Patton Oswalt served as host for the 10th time for the dynamic virtual production, that celebrated VFX talent in 25 awards categories. The Midnight Sky was named the photoreal feature winner, garnering two awards. Soul was named top animated film, winning five awards.  The Mandalorian was named best photoreal episode and garnered three awards. Walmart won top commercial honors.

Sacha Baron Cohen presented the VES Award for Creative Excellence to acclaimed visual effects supervisor, second unit director and director of photography Robert Legato, ASC.  Cate Blanchett presented the VES Lifetime Achievement Award to award-winning filmmaker Sir Peter Jackson – along with a star-studded tribute from Andy Serkis, Naomi Watts, Elijah Wood, Sir Ian McKellen, James Cameron and Gollum.  Presenters also included:  helmers Zack Snyder and Pete Docter, actors Lauren Cohan, Danny DeVito, Jenna Elfman, Marcus Scribner, Chris Sullivan, Colman Domingo, Demian Bichir and Anson Mount and VES Chair Lisa Cooke. Jocelyn Moffatt, Autodesk Entertainment Industry Marketing Manager, presented the Autodesk Student Award.


Roger Palmer

Roger has been a Disney fan since he was a kid and this interest has grown over the years. He has visited Disney Parks around the globe and has a vast collection of Disney movies and collectibles. He is the owner of What's On Disney Plus & DisKingdom. Email: Twitter: Facebook:

Related Article

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *